Imagine you’re editing the marketing description within a listing record. Inspiration strikes and the words flow effortlessly from your head onto the screen. You sit back, content with your work, and click Save Changes. A couple of hours later, you navigate back to that record… and your beautiful prose is gone, lost to cyberspace. Someone else was editing the listing record at the same time as you, saved their changes after you and overrode your edits! Our latest update vastly reduces the risk of this happening. It’s a big win for large agencies especially, where lots of users are potentially interacting with the same records at the same time. Read on to find out how it works.
When you are viewing the same record as another user
Rex now notifies you when another user is viewing the same record as you. You’ll now see a blue bar at the bottom of your screen that says [user’s name] is also viewing this [record].
That way, you can hold off on making any changes until they navigate away from the record (and the blue bar disappears).
If another user has made changes
Rex will also notify you if another user has recently made changes to a record, and prompt you to refresh the page so that you are viewing the most up-to-date version. You’ll see an orange bar that says [user’s name] edited this [record].
There’s also a button so you can preview the changes made, as well as a button to reload that record and view the most up-to-date version. This functionality currently works across a growing list of records and objects, including:
- Projects/Project Stages
Who knows, it might even spark conversations! If you see Henry is viewing your listing record, perhaps he has a buyer in mind. Why not ask him? This is yet another feature born from your suggestions. Keep the good stuff coming! Let us know your feature suggestions on Uservoice.